A national network of resources and information about the Middle East

MEOC OFFICERS AND BOARD OF DIRECTORS, 2016-17

PRESIDENT (2014-18)

Christopher Rose
Doctoral Candidate, Department of History
University of Texas at Austin
(512) 471-3582
csrose@austin.utexas.edu

PAST PRESIDENT (2014-18)

Barbara Petzen
Middle East Connections and Center for Strategic and International Studies
(571) 246-3494
bpetzen@gmail.com

PRESIDENT-ELECT (2014-18)

Greta Scharnweber
Associate Director, Hagop Kevorkian Center for Near Eastern Studies
New York University
(212) 998-8872 (w)
greta.scharnweber@nyu.edu

BOARD MEMBER (2015-2017)

Shyla Dogan
Doctoral Student, University of Arizona
shylad@email.arizona.edu

BOOK AWARDS COMMITTEE CO-CHAIR/BOARD MEMBER (2016-18)

Susan Douglass
Center for Contemporary Arab Studies
Georgetown University

MEMBERSHIP CHAIR/BOARD MEMBER (2016-18)

Michael Freydin
Social Studies Teacher, New York Public Schools

TREASURER/BOARD MEMBER (2013-17)

Terence Gilheany
St. Andrews School
tgilheany@gmail.com

BOARD MEMBER (2016-18)

Emma Harver
Duke-UNC Consortium for Middle East Studies
harver@unc.edu

BOARD MEMBER (2016-18)

Bram Hubbell
Friends Seminary

BOARD MEMBER (2015-2017)

Vaughn Shannon
Dept. of Political Science, Wright State University
vaughn.shannon@wright.edu

BOARD MEMBER (2015-2017)

Diana Shin
Outreach Administrator, New York University

TRAVEL AWARDS COMMITTEE CHAIR/BOARD MEMBER (2014-18)

Angela Williams
Associate Director, Center for South Asian and Middle Eastern Studies
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
(217) 244-5939
aswillms@illinois.edu

SECRETARY (Ex Officio)

Joe Stanik
New Era Academy Middle & High School
jtstanik@att.net