A national network of resources and information about the Middle East


Have you found a book for K-12 readers, published in 2014 or 2015,  that you consider worthy of consideration for a MEOC 2015 Book Award?  Please help us by nominating books for awards in the Picture Book, Youth Literature, or Youth Non-Fiction categories.  Many of us feel that the books awards are one of MEOC’s most important activities and hope you will assist in bringing attention to the great work of the award-winning authors and publishers.

MEOC welcomes nominations from its members, other educators, publishers, and the general public.  Although all nominations are valued, we especially appreciate nominations from teachers who may have used a nominated book with students.   See nomination form below.
The deadline for nominations is June 1, 2015.

MEOC established the Middle East Book Awards in 1999 to recognize books for children and young adults that contribute meaningfully to understanding of the Middle East.  Books that are nominated for awards are judged on the authenticity of their portrayal of a Middle Eastern subject, as well as on their plot, characterization, and appeal for the intended audience.  A committee of MEOC members, including teachers, librarians, outreach coordinators, and other educators, select award winners in Picture Book, Youth Literature, and Youth Non-Fiction categories.  Awards will be announced in the Fall for books that were published between January 1, 2014, through June 1, 2015.  For a list of MEOC Book Award recipients in previous years, go to www.meoc.us

To nominate a book, please send the following information to MEOC Book Awards Chair, Jean Campbell, jeanbcamp@comcast.net

Your name and teaching position or organization affiliation:
Award Category for Nomination (Picture Book, Youth Literature, Youth Non-Fiction):
Book title:
Author and Illustrator:
Publication Date:
A brief explanation of why you think this book is worthy of a nomination for a MEOC Book Award:

For more information, please contact me.  Thanks for your assistance and participation!

Jean Campbell, Chair, MEOC Book Awards, former MEOC President

Categories: Book Awards

Comments are closed.